Travel Information



Chittorgarh Fort

Standing tall in one of the oldest cities in Rajasthan, the Chittaurgarh Fort perched on a 152-m-high rocky hill. The Chittaurgarh Fort epitomizes the doomed romantic ideal of Rajput chivalry. Chittaurgarh Fort is a living testimony to the bravery of the great Rajput warriors who sacrificed their lives fighting a superior enemy instead of leading a life of submission. The fort of Chittor is believed to have been the capital of the Gahlot and Sisodia kings who ruled Mewar from the eighth to the sixteenth century AD.The fort is named after Chittrangad Mauraya. The Sisodia ruler Ajay Pal (AD 1174-1177) improved the fort wall built by the Gahlot king in the ninth century ADmer is also famous for its Pushkar festival held in October / November and is dedicated to Lord Brahma.

The ascent to the Chittaurgarh Fort takes one through zigzag paths interrupted at intervals by seven enormous gateways or 'pols'. There are 7 gateways to the main gate are Padan Pol, Bhairon Pol, Hanuman Pol, Ganesh Pol, Jorla Pol, Lakshman Pol, and Ram Pol. The Suraj Pol is the gate on the east. On the climb, there are two chhatris (small domed canopies, supported by pillars) where Jaimal and Kalla, heroes of the 1568 seige, fell during the struggle against Akbar.

Near the Padan Pol is the memorial of Rawat Bagh Singh who joined hands with King Vikramaditya to fight against Sultan Bahadur Shah of Gujarat when Chittor fort was attacked the second time. The Bhairon Pol is named in the memory of Bhairondas Solanki who also fought against Sultan Bahadur Shah in AD 1534. The Hanuman Pol, the Ram Pol, and the Lakshman Pol have a temple in their vicinity. The Jorla Pol has two adjacent gateways.

Google Resources


All About Travel in India

 » India Overview

 » Culture of India
 » India Popular Destinations
 » India Tourist Attractions
 » Festivals and Events
 » What & Where to Eat
 » Things to do in India
 » How to get in
 » Useful Information

|  Home  |  About us  |  Contact us  Disclaimer  |

Copyright © 2008 - 2015 - India [at]